Wednesday, March 16, 2016

March 2016



03/08/16
Iron to Iron
Wolf by Wolf, Book 0.5
by Ryan Graudin
ASIN: B01922I2QK
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 104
AmazonGoodreads
---------------------------
Once upon a different time, there was a boy who raced through a kingdom of death.

Sixteen-year-old Luka Löwe has one goal in mind: Win the 1955 Axis Tour and become the first Double Cross victor. If he can accomplish that, maybe his father will finally see him as a worthy son. He's completed the grueling trek from Germania to Tokyo before, but this time is different. Luka never expected to meet Adele Wolfe, another racer posing as her twin brother and with a singular dream--to live life on her own terms.

When Luka and Adele form an alliance, an unlikely bond forms, and even possibly love. But only one person can win the Axis Tour....Can everything Luka and Adele built together survive the race?


03/08/16
The Keeper of the Mist
by Rachel Neumeier
ISBN-13: 978-0553509281
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
AmazonGoodreads
-----------------
A lush new fantasy about finding the will to lead against all odds, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

Keri has been struggling to run her family bakery since her mother passed away.  Now the father she barely knew—the Lord of Nimmira—has died, and ancient magic has decreed that she will take his place as the new Lady. The position has never been so dangerous: the mists that hide Nimmira from its vicious, land-hungry neighbors have failed, and Keri's people are visible to strangers for the first time since the mists were put in place generations ago. 

At the same time, three half-brothers will their own eyes on the crown make life within the House just as dangerous as the world outside. But Keri has three people to guide her: her mysterious Timekeeper, clever Bookkeeper, and steadfast Doorkeeper. Together they must find a way to repair the boundary before her neighbors realize just how vulnerable Nimmira is.

With a spunky main character, lyrical storytelling, and hidden romance, The Keeper of the Mist is an engrossing story that is full of adventure. 



03/15/16
Yellow Brick War
Dorothy Must Die, Book 3
by Danielle Paige
ISBN-13: 978-0062280732
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 288
AmazonGoodreads
----------------
In this third book in the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, new girl from Kansas Amy Gumm is caught between her home—and Oz.

My name is Amy Gumm. Tornadoes must have a thing about girls from Kansas, because—just like Dorothy—I got swept away on one too. I landed in Oz, where Good is Wicked, Wicked is Good, and the Wicked Witches clued me in to my true calling: Assassin.

The way to stop Dorothy from destroying Oz—and Kansas—is to kill her. And I’m the only one who can do it.

But I failed. Others died for my mistakes. Because of me, the portal between the worlds has been opened. And if I don’t find a way to close it?

Dorothy will make sure I never get to go home again.

Now it’s up to me to: join the Witches, fight for Oz, save Kansas, and stop Dorothy once and for all.



03/22/16
The Way I Used to Be

by Amber Smith 
ISBN-13: 978-1481449359
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 384
AmazonGoodreads
----------------
In the tradition of Speak, this extraordinary debut novel shares the unforgettable story of a young woman as she struggles to find strength in the aftermath of an assault.

Eden was always good at being good. Starting high school didn’t change who she was. But the night her brother’s best friend rapes her, Eden’s world capsizes.

What was once simple, is now complex. What Eden once loved—who she once loved—she now hates. What she thought she knew to be true, is now lies. Nothing makes sense anymore, and she knows she’s supposed to tell someone what happened but she can’t. So she buries it instead. And she buries the way she used to be.

Told in four parts—freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior year—this provocative debut reveals the deep cuts of trauma. But it also demonstrates one young woman’s strength as she navigates the disappointment and unbearable pains of adolescence, of first love and first heartbreak, of friendships broken and rebuilt, and while learning to embrace a power of survival she never knew she had hidden within her heart.



03/22/16
Wink Poppy Midnight
by April Genevieve Tucholke
ISBN-13: 978-0803740488
Publisher: Dial Books
Pages: 256
AmazonGoodreads
--------------------
Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.

Someone is lying.



03/26/16
The Morrighan
A Remnant Chronicles Novella, Book 0.5
by Mary E. Pearson

ASIN: B019N5WLKY
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Pages: 82
Format: eBook
AmazonGoodreads
-------------------------
Before borders were drawn, before treaties were signed, 
before wars were waged anew, 
before the great kingdoms of the Remnant were even born 
and the world of old was only a hazy slate of memory told in story and legend, 
a girl and her family fought to survive. And that girl’s name was Morrighan.

In Morrighan, a prequel novella to Mary E. Pearson's The Remnant Chronicles, a girl and a boy from enemy camps meet, fall in love--and set history in motion.



03/29/16
The Winner's Kiss 
The Winner's Trilogy, Book 3

by Marie Rutkoski
ISBN-13: 978-0374384739
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Pages: 496
AmazonGoodreads
---------------------
War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it with untrustworthy new allies and the empire as his enemy. Though he has convinced himself that he no longer loves Kestrel, Arin hasn’t forgotten her, or how she became exactly the kind of person he has always despised. She cared more for the empire than she did for the lives of innocent people―and certainly more than she did for him.

At least, that’s what he thinks.

In the frozen north, Kestrel is a prisoner in a brutal work camp. As she searches desperately for a way to escape, she wishes Arin could know what she sacrificed for him. She wishes she could make the empire pay for what they’ve done to her.

But no one gets what they want just by wishing.

As the war intensifies, both Kestrel and Arin discover that the world is changing. The East is pitted against the West, and they are caught in between. With so much to lose, can anybody really win?

No comments: